Honey Select Thread

Tsukachan

Club Regular
Inspired by Streets of Rage 4, I decided to make a small zako scene where Blaze takes on a gang of rogue fighters on a small Asian town. Her victim was a rather hefty sumo wrestler with large breasts and thighs and meaty arms. As she fell down, the ground cracked due to her heavy size. Other ones includes two muay thai fighters, a dark-skinned sumo wrestler, a ninja and a martial artist.
20200312234213648.png


Aftermath of the fight:
20200312235154766.png
 

Idoro

Fully Functional
Staff member
Moderator
Ryonani Teamster
Joined
Nov 10, 2010
Location
West Coast
Yo! I posted some scenes involving a new type of zako who just so happen to be from the wild west on pixiv! Charlotte's Gang

20200107003944321.jpg

If you like cowgirls and shootouts... these girls are for you. :D

I have a bar brawl scene that I'll be uploading soon as well! If you're a member of the Discord, you've probably seen it. But if not, it involves 3 of these gals getting worked over quite a bit. :3

20200313140500110.jpg
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Greetings!

Having just discovered Honey Select, I thought it might be fun making a couple simple games with several different and diverse zakos on them (maybe a simple level scroller beat 'em up, and a shooting gallery).

I have gathered some questions regarding the program:

- Is there an "undo" function?
- How can I render the scene? How can I render animations? Is it possible to have an alpha channel?
- I am used to animating in 3dmax, but the options in this program seem... lackluster. Is there any tutorial in order to make the best of the tools available?

I'm sorry if those are silly questions, but I couldn't find answers as of yet.

Thanks!

 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Greetings,
I was advised to change the software I was using. I am now trying to create zako sprites for games using Illusion' AI Girl. So far, it seems more amiable than Honey Select (to the very least, there is an undo option). I noticed animation is better supported, but I haven't managed to set keyframes using the poses I create. I was also wondering if someone knows how to render the scene properly, including an alpha channel.
If anyone can give me a hand in creating these game zakos, it would be great.
Thanks!

 

Weoooo

Club Regular
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
For AI, I donno how, but I bet someone's invented an alphashot for it. You're not actually rendering anything, stuff is already rendered. What you're going to be doing is taking a screenshot, sometimes with whatever is marked as the background color keyed out as an alpha. The two games are very similar, so I imagine someone made it quick.

Joan, for example, has been able to port his mods back and forth for the three(HS, KK, and AI).
I WANTED to do what you're trying to do, but I gave up once I realized I had no idea how to make a game at all and everything is more complicated than I thought it was. Using alphashot or whatever AI uses to capture out things that you'd use as a sprite is totally doable, though. 20200403172535523.png
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Thanks for the reply!
Posing the characters for each frame and capturing the screen can be... problematic, at least. If several fluid animations are to be made, it should be possible to set keyframes and render the sequences with all the interpolations in between. I'll put my zako projects on hold, in hopes of finding a method of animating more akin to 3dsmax (or other 3d animation software for that matter). In any case, thanks for the contribution!
Creating simple games can be done with little programming skills using software such as Clickteam Fusion Developer. A shooting gallery (without different hitting areas within a body, just a true/false) or a basic 2d platformer can be done with quite ease. I do believe the most problematic aspect is getting the frames themselves.
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Well, I made some progress. I wish Illusion's software was more exporting friendly, but it is not the case. I decided to use a chroma key; placing a green background, capturing the screen and then using After Effects to get the transparency. It is not ideal, but it is something.







With the render issue somehow lessened, I am still wondering how can one animate the characters. There are a few helpers to move the characters around, but there doesn't seem to be a proper keyframing system. With no keyframes and interpolation, decent animation is impossible, I am afraid.
 

Tsukachan

Club Regular
Well, I made some progress. I wish Illusion's software was more exporting friendly, but it is not the case. I decided to use a chroma key; placing a green background, capturing the screen and then using After Effects to get the transparency. It is not ideal, but it is something.







With the render issue somehow lessened, I am still wondering how can one animate the characters. There are a few helpers to move the characters around, but there doesn't seem to be a proper keyframing system. With no keyframes and interpolation, decent animation is impossible, I am afraid.
Not bad though. Maybe you can make it into a beat 'em up game in the future, and I would be happy to provide you with my OC zakos.
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
I really hope I can manage to create the required animations for a simple (yet fully animated) beat 'em up. Any help regarding this would be more than welcome.


If you can contribute with a set of zako from either program, that would be great! :)
 

snakesonaplane

Vivacious Visitor
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
Well, I made some progress. I wish Illusion's software was more exporting friendly, but it is not the case. I decided to use a chroma key; placing a green background, capturing the screen and then using After Effects to get the transparency. It is not ideal, but it is something.







With the render issue somehow lessened, I am still wondering how can one animate the characters. There are a few helpers to move the characters around, but there doesn't seem to be a proper keyframing system. With no keyframes and interpolation, decent animation is impossible, I am afraid.
If you want transparent backgrounds in StudioNEO turn off all of the Screen Effects. Go to System, then Screen Effects and turn them off
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
The problem is that if there was no contrasting background, there would be no way of removing it and leaving an alpha channel...
In any case, thanks for the contribution!
 

Weoooo

Club Regular
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
If you can use 3dsmax and stuff like that, studio's already below your skillset's ability to apply. There's animation creating plugins, but they're for making videos or scenes to share with others, not for exporting for use. I THINK they could be used to create an animation you take pictures of in motion, but I'd have to experiment and see because I think they're mostly for sex stuff. Cause, you know, this is an H-game.

I wish I had a more positive thing to say, but I really don't. I think these programs are great, and are incredible introductions to rendering, and they've opened up an area of my creativity I didn't realize I had; but they are ultimately games rather than game creating tools. They can be used to make visual novels and I think they could be keyed out for frame-based simple animations, but aside from that I donno if you're going to be able to do really smooth looking 60fps stuff with it.
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
If you can use 3dsmax and stuff like that, studio's already below your skillset's ability to apply. There's animation creating plugins, but they're for making videos or scenes to share with others, not for exporting for use. I THINK they could be used to create an animation you take pictures of in motion, but I'd have to experiment and see because I think they're mostly for sex stuff. Cause, you know, this is an H-game.
Good. I'll have to find some animation plugins then. Thanks!
 

snakesonaplane

Vivacious Visitor
Joined
Mar 8, 2012
The problem is that if there was no contrasting background, there would be no way of removing it and leaving an alpha channel...
In any case, thanks for the contribution!
Select a plain coloured background, like a black or a dark grey or something like that. Turn off every single effect listed as I mentioned before, and then print screen it. I promise you it will work perfectly as I was having the same problem you did. This is for Studio NEO btw, I never use regular studio. I'll even attach an image that I made in Studio NEO for you to try and remove the background from. It should be much easier now.
NEO.png
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
I made a very small experiment; I used Clickteam Fusion to make a small animation test.
It would seem that fluid animations are needed; flat sprites contrast a lot with the walking animation (and the falling "animation" is just sad).
 

Attachments

Weoooo

Club Regular
Joined
Dec 3, 2010
Yeah, either taking screenshots of the animation to make it framey or somehow creating a smooth one is the way it's gotta go. Can't mix.

I gotta say this is way more progress way faster than I thought would happen though
 

slayer

Swell Supporter
Joined
Mar 8, 2017
Well, it was just a little test.
Regarding what you say, yes, mixing fluid animations and still sprites doesn't seem to look very good. I am hoping I can come across a way of animating the characters properly...
 
Top Bottom