1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Roxie/Homika from Pokémon

Discussion in 'Loader Requests' started by BrickShithouse, Jan 10, 2016.

  1. BrickShithouse

    BrickShithouse Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    So I was using this dynamic hair import of Roxie/Homika from pokémon, and I'm getting errors, or, it's not really working right, it slumps down oddly.

    I think it was made by Mineur a long while ago:
    Mineur's Imports - New Poll! Update: Kuune, Kurumi Ebisuzawa & Krul Tepes! | Undertow

    This is the problem I'm getting, left is a screenshot with the old loader, right is the latest version, it's like clipping and slumping on itself somehow.

    [​IMG]


    I'm wondering if there's any way to fix this?
    Also, while I'm at it, I would like if it didn't load any character code.
     
  2. Huitznahua

    Huitznahua Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    84
    I'm pretty sure @Mineur make only static hair import.
     
  3. BrickShithouse

    BrickShithouse Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
  4. Lizoran

    Lizoran Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2012
    Messages:
    210
    Likes Received:
    4
    It was made by Kir in his #1 dynamic imports. Also, this seems to happen to a lot of dynamic hairs (Seen it myself) so it could be a problem with the loader itself since it doesn't happen on vanilla
     
  5. stuntcock

    stuntcock Club Regular Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    352
    It works fine with Loader 5.45. The crucial factor is animtoolsV14. There's a scripting technique involving re-orientation of scene gravity, which doesn't cooperate with Dynamic hairstyles whose hair strands use a variety of different gravity vectors.

    There's a fix available if you use the extended hair physics library. It involves repackaging the hairstyle as a Loader import.

    Alternatively: bring the matter to @sby's attention. He may be able to offer a patch for animtools which would allow the SWF files to be used as-is.
     
  6. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    73
    oh snap, those gravity vectors can actually change? i thought they all pointed down xD
    i'll see if i can find a way to fix that. i believe there is a gravity for strands option that you can turn off in the mean time.
     
  7. VorstVolxen

    VorstVolxen Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Ah, I understand what's happening now. So it's an issue with how the gravity is affected by anim tools, right?

    Unfortunately, when it comes to this kind of thing; heck even modding in general, I'm a simpleton. XD
    I'll just wait in the mean time.
     
  8. BrickShithouse

    BrickShithouse Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    May 3, 2012
    Messages:
    170
    Likes Received:
    1
    So uh, was this ever looked at?
     
  9. VorstVolxen

    VorstVolxen Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    I'm not sure.
    I'm pretty terrible at finding things to be honest though...Even patches and patch notes.
     
  10. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    73
    pushed an update to animtools, likely will find this behaving better

    animtoolsV15_beta | Undertow

    edit- maybe my updates have to be approved or something, doesn't seem to be downloading the new files at this time. weird that it would show the update notes, but not provide the updated file. seems like a bug to me

    heres mediafire animtoolsV15.zip
     
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2016
  11. Faceless

    Faceless Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    22
    @sby Resources need to be approved, yeah. I think there's plans in the works for the Content Creator group to be able to skip that process, though? @stuntcock would know.
     
  12. AdrianMcClean

    AdrianMcClean Avid Affiliate Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    14
    @Faceless mine seem to go straight through, for what it's worth. Initially they did have to be approved.
     
  13. stuntcock

    stuntcock Club Regular Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2012
    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    352
    Yes. That particular feature is already in-place. Anything uploaded by a Content Creator is immediately visible to the public - so it's safe to share a download link with your fans via forum post or PM.

    Updates shouldn't require approval. @Huitznahua has provided patches for a few of his files without incident.

    My guess is that we're running into a problem with internet connections which are mildly unreliable or unstable. A few users had reported difficulty uploading large mod files (~50 MB). If there's a hiccup on the series of tubes between *you* and *undisclosed location* (where the Undertow server is hosted), and an overly-aggressive timeout setting, then your file upload could presumably become abandoned. @detritus couldn't find a specific problem with the hosting parameters, sockets settings, etc... so he increased the timeout value.

    The forum software is a bit misleading, because it will "accept" the update text corresponding to a lost file. This is presumably a convenience feature (in that it saves the author from needing to re-type his whole message) but it can be very confusing if you're facing repeated errors during file transfer. Ideally, the software would at least warn the user about the failed upload and prompt them to try again.

    For the moment, I've simply re-uploaded @sby's patched file (from mediafire) onto the animtoolsV15_beta resource. The update should be visible (and downloadable) at the moment.

    If anyone out there is encountering repeated problems with file transfers, then please contact @detritus with the details. Also, remember that you can use the "External download URL" as a temporary workaround. If you're able to reliably transfer your files to a hosting website (such as mega.nz or mediafire) then you can post an update to your Resource by simply copy-pasting the mediafire link. The system allows for externally-hosted files to be spliced in among Undertow-hosted ones. Example:
    • Version 1.0: uploaded to the Undertow server
    • Version 1.1: hosted on Mediafire because the Undertow server was misbehaving and kept terminating the file transfer
    • Version 1.1a: exactly the same as the previous file, but re-uploaded to the Undertow server after detritus fixed the upload bug
    • Version 1.2: uploaded to the Undertow server
    • etc...
     
  14. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    73
    i have pretty shitty internet, so uploading the 8 meg file takes multiple minutes for me, plenty of time for stuff to break
     
  15. detritus

    detritus angry angry Staff Member Administrator

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2009
    Messages:
    997
    Likes Received:
    117
    Just uploaded a 150MB file without issues. Unfortunately not a whole lot we can do to support issues with the upload timing out due to unstable network routes/connections. I may move the server at the end of this billing cycle if it continues to be an issue for more people.
     
  16. VorstVolxen

    VorstVolxen Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hmm...Still having an issue with that Yoko Littner hair even after installing the Animtools v15 update.
    That being said; it did fix a few other issues I was having, so...Yay for that, actually.

    I can live without the hair mod. :P