1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dynamic Hair Positioning

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by sclover13, Jan 24, 2013.

  1. sclover13

    sclover13 Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    25
    Positioning a Dynamic Hair [size=12pt]so that is doesn't look like an abortion.[/size]


    [​IMG]

    So,
    you want to make a dynamic hair? Well follow this guide you little shit, Kona was kind of enough to give you a simple ass guide


    Kona's Simple Ass Guide:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------​

    Now,
    You know how to make a dynamic hair! That's right! You draw your hair, then segment it into 2-4 different movie clips following the paradigm YourHairNameA, YourHairNameB, YourHairNameC, and YourHairNameD.


    If you followed the guide correctly you'll have moving hair! Yay! That was easy wasn't it?

    What? Your hair isn't moving correctly? It's all jumbled and fucked up and spaced oddly?
    Well, that's because it isn't perfectly straight and/or you FORGOT YOUR god damn GUIDELINES! If your hair was perfectly straight all the origin points would line up correctly and things would move and swing with mighty feminine allure.

    This guide is for all those you can make dynamic hairs but fail to align them properly (please use your guidelines - See Kona tut):


    [​IMG]
    Each of the 2-4 movie clips you have made for your dynamic hair will have a "point of origin" or registration. This is represented as a plus sign on the movie clip. (You can decide the registration when making the clip initially... I almost always choose "top" registration).

    [​IMG]

    When you make these and align your hairs you'll notice that they are not in straight line [as pictured above]. To function as intended these registration/origin points need to be in a straight line.

    Next, let's fix this bitch:

    [​IMG]

    All clips for a dynamic hair are dependent upon the registration/origin point on YourHairNameA. This means you need to align the other points here. To do this I usually draw a line on a new layer on either the Dynamic Hair mod itself or in YourHairNameA (as shown in the picture).

    [​IMG]

    Next, let's align the other origins to YourHairNameA's. I accomplish this through by moving the entire clips of YourHairNameB+ -- not editing inside them. Moving them on the stage within the Dynamic Hair mod.

    Smart children will see that once the reg/origin point is aligned it looks just like the fucked up final product.

    [​IMG]

    The last step, you little monsters, is to enter the YourHairNameB+ (B through D) and select all and drag and drop the art so it is visually aligned to YourHairNameA (C aligned to B, and D aligned to C). To drag in straight lines hold "shift" while dragging.

    .....

    And there you have it! You're hairs will be aligned and will work correctly.
     
  2. ModGuy

    ModGuy Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,754
    Likes Received:
    22
    This is the best style of guide ever.
    I won't use because I can't draw for shit, but it's worth a read just for the humour.

    Good job on this.
     
  3. sclover13

    sclover13 Avid Affiliate

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2012
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    25
    Thanks 8) I'm waiting for the hard critics' responses before I put together part 2 "Tips and Tits".

    Also, again, kids... you can avoid this whole mess if you do more than scan Kona's guide (specifically his part about "guidelines"). Dynamic hairs are extremely simple and require about 15 minutes to complete if setup correctly (meaning draw the shit to be dynamic; trying to make something not created to be dynamic is a pain in the ass).
     
  4. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,337
    Likes Received:
    76
    i'm sby, and i approve this message.


    i think the how to fix dynamic hair pics were enlightening.
     
  5. Faceless

    Faceless Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    22
    Something I've noticed is that dynamic parts tend to have some vertical distortion, so it won't actually appear where the .fla indicates it will in relation to the rest of the hair. That's not a problem if the part is self-contained and has a complete outline, but it's still something to keep in mind.
     
  6. Kir

    Kir Casual Client

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just got Flash CS6 last weekend, but I failed at attempting to make dynamic hair. I followed every step in Konashion's dynamic hair tutorial but I'm still not used to the controls. I tried creating separate hair parts in photoshop then import them to Flash CS6. Unless it doesn't work that way?

    can anyone check in this .fla file to see if I'm doing anything wrong?

    btw, never mind the mess in my hair drawing, just want to know how it works. Thanks

    [attachurl=1]
     

    Attached Files:

  7. Synonymous

    Synonymous Swell Supporter Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2012
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    22
    I copy and pasted everything back into the templates and got it working... sort of.
    First dynamic piece has no ball joint and I think the registration points are off on all of them.

    [attachurl=1]

    I'd trace the pieces in flash just so it's easier to edit with.
     

    Attached Files:

  8. Kir

    Kir Casual Client

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    9
    Sweet thanks, +karma to you.

    I can work the problems on ball joint and registration points. Just want to know how you were able to animate the hair. Can you explain that? I mean why I wasn't able to get that hair moving.
     
  9. Kir

    Kir Casual Client

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Likes Received:
    9
    Just figured it out. This is somewhat better, sort of. Need more practice at this.

    [attachurl=1]
     

    Attached Files: