Guide for a complete beginner in games programing (1 Viewer)

RyonaDamsels

Ryonani Teamster
I am a complete begineer in programming video games whether it was a Java game or Flash game or XNA game or C++ game or any other games using other programming languages

So for the ones who are expert in Game programming field ? What is the general advises for a complete begineer ? Like what programs shall I use for every language , What is the easiest to hardest languages to develop games , Supporting Step by step Tutorials and any advice that can be helpful

Thanks in advance :)

Setsunai1111

Potential Patron
XNA: Write in C#. Use Visual Studio C# Express.

This is personally my favorite environment to create games. C# is a powerful object-oriented language that is much easier than C++ for beginners because you don't have to deal with memory concepts and applications, which can be obscure for beginners. Also, C# has great documentation provided by Microsoft; you can just google any standard object and usually get all of the information you need.

Unfortunately, Microsoft is not continuing development on XNA. It has an unsure future. Depending on your purposes of this game, it may or may not be the right choice for you.

RyonaDamsels

Ryonani Teamster
Thanks for your reply :) , So Is C# a language that can be self-learning or it should be learned in an academic way ? and how much it will take for me if I self studied it a couple of hours daily ? and if my main purpose of learning C# is for developing games then shall I stick only with "Creating games with C#" types of tutorials or shall I learn everything about C# ?

onlinehero

Casual Client