1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Dynamic Hair and layer depths

Discussion in 'Help' started by Churchill, Aug 24, 2014.

  1. Churchill

    Churchill Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am attempting a dynamic hair mod. The clip's behavior and depth are controlled by the targetElement variable, which is defined as follows:

    Code:
    var targetElement:String = ModElements.DYNAMIC_HAIR_OVER;
    This setting is described to be above the head, ear, and body but apparently the hair is so long that it is clipping through the forearm/elbow region.

    Is there any trick to force the dynamic hair to the top-most layer?
     
  2. Faceless

    Faceless Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2011
    Messages:
    1,118
    Likes Received:
    22
    Not with vanilla.
     
  3. Churchill

    Churchill Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like I posted in the wrong section, apologies. My focus is definitely with Loader, perhaps there is a way there? The Nami vanilla hair type is quite long, however, the length of it is no doubt under all the body.

    There was a function to swap depths as I recall, though I have not mucked about in Flash since MX was hot on the market... what I knew was AS2 not AS3. The whole concept is likely more trouble than it is worth, just curious if there were solutions from those who might have hit the same roadblock.
     
  4. ModGuy

    ModGuy Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,754
    Likes Received:
    22
    Rather than swap layers around its probably more useful to add another layer in the extended template.
    Ask sby.
     
  5. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    76
    so i got a new dynamic hair element added to my local copy of the extended template.

    right now got it as the last child of frontLayer. this puts it above her arms, but strands do not get placed on that hair portion.
    however, it seems strands were not placed on it before anyway, so oh well; appears to work.



    next time i upload stuff i will upload the new template

    edit - the only change to the template is this:
    public static const DYNAMIC_HAIR_OVER_EXTENDED:String = "dynamicHairOverExtended";


    with a bit of documentation in the template:
    * Target layer. Options are:
    * Elements.DYNAMIC_HAIR_OVER_EXTENDED (Above even more things ) //sby change here
    * Elements.DYNAMIC_HAIR_OVER (Above all.)
    * Elements.DYNAMIC_HAIR_BETWEEN (Under ear, above body)


    the real changes are in the templateextension that comes with the loader, which i will get around to sending to modguy at some point

    edit - old pic removed
     
  6. Churchill

    Churchill Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Much obliged, good sir. I'll keep an eye out for the new version.
     
  7. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,339
    Likes Received:
    76
    new template has been uploaded, and modguy uploaded loader 5.41 with the new template extension. so hopefully this stuff works and is available now