How do I load custom dialogue? (1 Viewer)

cog

Potential Patron
Hi, I'm new to this awesome game and have a simple question that I couldn't find the answer to from browsing the forum. Apologies if it's there somewhere.

I'm creating a custom character by following the guide here: [W.I.P] SDT Tutorial for Very Newbie User

I'd like a Dialogue.txt file that's not in the same folder as the character to automatically load when I load the character. That way I can use 1 dialogue file that auto loads for lots of characters. I've tried to do it in the same way that hair and BG is done ( e.g "customHair:Mods\DOWNLOAD\Hair\Konan.png") by using "customDialogue" and the path to the file, but doesnt work. Any solution?

stuntcock

Content Creator
I'd like a Dialogue.txt file that's not in the same folder as the character to automatically load when I load the character. That way I can use 1 dialogue file that auto loads for lots of characters.
If your single file applies to everyone then you can simply put it here:

Mods\$INIT$\dialogue.txt

This dialogue file will be loaded when the game starts up, so any girl will immediately begin speaking your custom lines.

------------​

Alternatively, you could just copy-paste multiple copies of the file into each girl's folder.

Mods\Annie\dialogue.txt
Mods\Bettie\dialogue.txt
Mods\Catherine\dialogue.txt

It's a bit of a hassle if you're actively expanding or tweaking the file (because then you'll need to replace all of the copies each time) but it will work.

------------​

Finally, you could package the dialogue into a SWF and place it in a parent folder. Each girl's Mods.txt file would then refer to the (shared) file. The advantage here is that you could have several different shared files -- one for submissive girls, one for domineering girls, and so on.

Mods\aggressiveDialogue.swf
Mods\passiveDialogue.swf
Mods\sluttyDialogue.swf

Mods\Annie\Mods.txt

Code:
../aggressiveDialogue.swf
Mods\Bettie\Mods.txt
Code:
../passiveDialogue.swf