General issue - not quite a suggestion (1 Viewer)

The ZIL Organization

Club Regular
This is not a suggestion.

Rather, I feel it relevant to mention that I have been noticing site performance issues for at least 2 months since February 2021. Site is slow, sometimes updating is slow, sometimes making changes take a long time, sometimes can't even get in to this site.

I doubt this has anything to do with my system, given that I have no such problems with other sites.

d£t

nu
Ryonani Teamster
I haven't heard of any other reports of site performance issues in the past couple months. Is this consistent or off and on? There's a lot of optimization on the site for it to feel responsive to most actions besides file uploads. A site backup runs during the night around 10:00 UTC so if you're only active around that time, you'll see a bit of a slow down for an hour or two.

The ZIL Organization

Club Regular
OK, to give an example, goose.

About 5 minutes before I posted (this time stamp), it was taking a long time to:
1) read notifications
2) enter any forum
took about 2-3 minutes, which is unexpected for modern websites.

d£t

nu
Ryonani Teamster
Yeah that was an hour before backups started so I'd say unrelated to that. That sort of latency is well outside the norms. I'm half the world away from the physical server the site is hosted on and pages load nearly instantly for me.

As I don't have any other members reporting this and I don't see high load or poor performance logged on the server, the issue is most likely between your computer/phone and the server which neither of us have control over.

In the off chance it's something with your computer, I can make a few recommendations to try in case the issue is on your end if you know how:
  • If you're using a VPN, don't use it. If you're not using one and you have access to one, see if it's still slow when going through a VPN.
  • Try a private/incognito browser session and see if you see the same issue