1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mod Editing?

Discussion in 'Help' started by lotus360, Jan 3, 2014.

  1. lotus360

    lotus360 Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was trying to edit Dante's Silk Robe mod (http://www.sdtmods.com/index.php?topic=3132.0) to mess around with the colors. I used to sothink swf decomplier to extract the .fla file (it also extracted a few .sa files). I then opened the .fla in Flash builder amd was able to edit it just fine. However, when I publish the file, its size is about half the original and it won't load in loader. If I try opening the file in flash and publishing without any editing at all I get the same result. Could someone please tell me what I'm doing wrong? Do I need to load the .sa files manually? If so, how would I do that? Thanks in advanced.
     
  2. ModGuy

    ModGuy Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,754
    Likes Received:
    21
    Decompiled stuff won't necessarily operate the same, in fact it's always unlikely.
    It's .as, not .sa, right? Anyway, ask Dante directly for a modification.
    It's more effort to work with broken source and you're using his work anyway.

    If you must use these files, attach them. We can't understand a problem without seeing what you've got.
     
  3. lotus360

    lotus360 Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. I thought it would just be a simple extract and edit but I guess not. I suppose I'll just message Dante then. Thanks.

    I attached the files anyway. The original and what I got from decompilation .
     

    Attached Files:

  4. ModGuy

    ModGuy Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2011
    Messages:
    1,754
    Likes Received:
    21
    Yep, you nuked it. That FLA isn't layed out correctly at all.
    Have a look at the vanilla template and you'll see that you're missing the actual mod registering and such.
    This is workable, however I suggest that you simply cut/paste elements to the vanilla template as a sanity check.
     
  5. sby

    sby Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2012
    Messages:
    1,331
    Likes Received:
    73
    hue shiftable silk robes:
    [attachurl=1]
    i happen to have already made this before

    (decompiled, tweaked, and then re-compiled)

    edit - attachment removed, silk robe tweaked mod included with moreclothing
     
  6. lotus360

    lotus360 Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I see. I can't get it to work quite right just cutting and pasting either. I sent Dante a message already for it, thanks though.

    Thanks, but that color shift hurts the eyes it does. These were the edits I was trying to do in flash.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. dantethedarkprince

    dantethedarkprince Club Regular Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    58
    Okay I almost forgot about this one. Recent developments in my abilities have provided me with the capability to make the robe RGB. I'll be on it very soon