1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[GW2] Trouble with uMod! see posts

Discussion in 'Game Mods' started by OtterDragon, Dec 15, 2015.

  1. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Link to original unedited .DDS, ripped while my charr was wearing no equipment.
    TinyUpload.com - best file hosting solution, with no limits, totaly free

    The modding I've done so far is pretty much all trial and error, and I'm a bit of a stranger to .DDS files, I've worked with them in the past, I know they are textures with multiple layers or something? In any case, I've ripped the character texture from my Charr for Guild Wars 2 and made myself a couple nude mods, seen here and here <-both NSFW

    However, when I apply these mods via uMod, it also replaces, quite messily, the texture of every other player in the game, as well as any armor I equip and my minimap. I'm not entirely sure what is going on here, I'm working on the .DDS in photoshop CS6 using nvidia's .DDS plugin, and when I load it in there are no layers, however there is clearly stuff underneath what I see, as when I select an area and try to delete, it defaults to 'Content aware' which deletes the top layer of what I have select only to reveal a mess of other textures below it. Maybe a different program to edit this in is the key?

    Any information or help would be greatly appreciated!

    Here's a few screens of what I'm loading and saving
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    These are the first save options I found that worked without causing the game to crash when I loaded the texture package, not sure if this is optimal.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  2. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    Could you share the original dds file?
     
  3. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can do! I was just thinking this morning that it might help to post that up here. Give me a few though, my guild wars 2 is currently updating, but once its done I'll get ingame and rip a clean copy of the texture to post here.

    I'll edit it into the main post
     
  4. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    There are no hidden textures in this file. According to DDS header it's DXT5 compressed file (not DXT3). And it has 9 mipmap levels (one main surface and 8 mipmaps) which is slightly unusual for 1024x1024 texture. I thought it always have 11 mipmap levels: 1x1, 2x2, 4x4, 8x8, ..., 1024x1024. But this file has no 1x1 and 2x2 mipmaps.

    Try to load it with mipmaps, edit main surface and all mipmaps and save it as DXT5 with "Use Existing MIP maps".

    Other unrelated textures corruption you observe could be caused by incorrect compression and mipmap count.
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  5. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0

    Gave that a try, but there was no difference
    [​IMG]
     
  6. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    Have you tried to use unmodified texture via uMod? Does it cause same effect?

    Have you erased (made transparent) any areas of this texture for your mod?

    Try to fill the whole texture with solid green color and use it via uMod and see what happens.
     
  7. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried loading the texture unmodified, and it did in fact wreak havoc on others textures, as well as my minimap.

    As for erasing, yes, as you can see in the first shots I posted of the texture in photoshop, the big black areas are where I have erased, in both the alpha layer and the top layer.

    I'll try the solid green thing soon

    [edit] tried it, these are the results
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 15, 2015
  8. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    Seems like uMod issue to me. If even unmodified texture causes this.

    Btw, is the DDS file name same as uMod saves it or is it renamed by you? I'm confused about "xxxx" part. It should be texture hash there instead of xxxx.
     
  9. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes it is a texture hash code that I replaced, just in case it could be used to identify my account :P
    if thats important I can send it to you, but yea, it does seem like a uMod issue... not sure what else I could do to remedy the situation
     
  10. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    If hash code is there then I don't need it. I just thought that maybe uMod is unable to calculate hash sometimes and uses "xxxx" texture for all other textures without a hash. But that's not the case. I'm out of ideas for now.
     
  11. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well thank you for attempting! I'll keep trying at it if ever I find new info, I will totally make nude mods for all races if I can figure this out.
     
  12. OtterDragon

    OtterDragon Potential Patron

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to let people know I'm still working on this! If anyone has suggestions, or alternative programs/methods of putting this texture in game in such a way that it wont interfere with other textures, let me know
     
  13. Vergil

    Vergil Swell Supporter Content Creator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    69
    Does Ray Wing's Resorep work with GW2? It's worth a try I guess.
     
  14. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    I'm afraid not. It turned out to be too specific.
     
  15. Vergil

    Vergil Swell Supporter Content Creator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    69
    I see. Are you going to expand Resorep to make it support more games in future?
     
  16. Ray Wing

    Ray Wing Casual Client Content Creator

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2013
    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    118
    Not sure if I will. But if I decide to do it I will rather integrate DX11 code into uMod since its sources are available and it has more convenient UI and texture saving.
     
  17. Vergil

    Vergil Swell Supporter Content Creator

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2012
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    69
    That sounds wonderful! I would test some games for you if you're going to make the DX11 uMod version.